Bob Dylan: Another Self Portrait (2013)

812vqargd8l-_sl1500_

In 2013, Americana icon Bob Dylan released Another Self Portrait, an album of unreleased tracks and alternative takes of songs he recorded for his 1970 albums Self Portrait and New Morning.  The album’s cover features a recent self-portrait that Dylan painted, alluding to the cover he painted for Self Portrait.  Tracks from the album include some sung in Dylan’s country croon style developed for his 1969 album Nashville Skyline.  The traditional English folk song “Pretty Saro” is among these.  The music video for the track is included below along with the lyrics to the song, which is in the public domain.

Down in some lone valley
In a sad lonesome place
Where the wild birds do all
Their notes to increase

Farewell pretty Saro
I bid you Adieu
But I dream of pretty Saro
Wherever I go

Well my love she won’t have me
So I understand
She wants a freeholder
Who owns a house and land

I cannot maintain her
With silver and gold
And all of the fine things
That a big house can hold

If I was a poet
And could write a fine hand
I’d write my love a letter
That she’d understand

And write it by the river
Where the waters overflow
But I dream of pretty Saro
Wherever I go

Leave a Reply

